You are here


CEO DATELINE – Association Forum names award winners for Honors Gala

Feb. 20, 2020
By Walt Williams

Association Forum will recognize four individuals and one professional society later this year for their work in the association community.

Want more news?

Consider joining CEO Update. Membership gives full access to the latest intelligence on association management, career advancement, compensation trends and networking events, as well as hundreds of listings for senior-level association jobs.

Click here for membership details.

The Chicago-based group announced Wednesday it will give out five awards during its Honors Gala on June 18 at the Chicago Marriott Downtown-Magnificent Mile. The event celebrates the association profession and honors leaders who strengthen it, Association Forum said in a statement.

This year’s honorees are:

Steve Smith, CEO of American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, will receive the Samuel B. Shapiro Award for Chief Staff Executive Achievement. He is being recognized for outstanding service in association management, a demonstrated ability and willingness to serve as a mentor, a proven record of overcoming challenges faced by a CEO, and leadership contributions that significantly and consistently impact the advancement of the profession. (Smith will step down from AAHPM this spring to become CEO of Association Management Center.)

Daniel Borschke, executive vice president of the National Association of Concessionaires, will receive the John C. Thiel Distinguished Service Award for outstanding service to Association Forum.

Lindsey Nelson, vice president of programs and services at the National Automatic Merchandising Association, will receive the Association Professional Achievement Award for exemplary service and outstanding accomplishments in association management.

Kari Natale, senior director of planning and governance of the Illinois CPA Society and senior director of the CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, will receive the Inspiring Leader Award for an individual who has established a culture leading to employee satisfaction, motivation, engagement and achievement.

The Institute of Food Technologists will receive the Welcoming Environment Organizational Award for associations that have demonstrated exemplary outcomes in providing inclusive and welcoming environments and cultures.

The Honors Gala is a fundraiser for the Association Forum Foundation, which is a separate 501(c)(3) organization with the purpose of enhancing the Association Forum's programs and services through education, research and scholarship initiatives.